South Dakota High School Activities Association

2022-23 Activity Chairpersons

Boys Basketball

Region Chairperson Email Date(s)
1A Derek Larson, Aberdeen Roncalli derek.larson@aberdeenroncalli.org 2023 - Feb 28, Mar 3
2A Rick Weber, Flandreau rick.weber@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 27, Feb 28, Mar 3
3A Edward Clark, Baltic edward.clark@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 28, Mar 3
4A Jason Huska, Vermillion jason.huska@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 28, Mar 2
5A Eric Denning, Mount Vernon eric.denning@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 27, Feb 28, Mar 3
6A Monte Sazue, Crow Creek monte.sazue@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 28, Mar 3
7A Keith Ferguson, Little Wound keithferguson@littlewound.us 2023 - Feb 28, Mar 3
8A Craig Nowotny, St. Thomas More cnowotny@rccss.org 2023 - Feb 28, Mar 3
1B Jeff Kosters, Frederick Area jeff.kosters@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 27, Feb 28, Mar 3
2B Mike Ruth, Iroquois mike.ruth@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 27, Feb 28, Mar 3
3B Brant Deutsch, Colman-Egan brant.deutsch@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 27, Feb 28, Mar 3
4B Doug Edberg, Centerville doug.edberg@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 27, Feb 28, Mar 3
5B Scott Muckey, Corsica-Stickney scott.muckey@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 27, Feb 28, Mar 3
6B Dan Knust, Ipswich dan.knust@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 27, Feb 28, Mar 3
7B Eldon Marshall, White River eldon.marshall@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 27, Feb 28, Mar 3
8B Kelly Messmer, Harding County kelly.messmer@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 27, Feb 28, Mar 3

Boys Golf (Fall)

Region Chairperson Email Site Date(s)
1A Derek Larson, Aberdeen Roncalli derek.larson@aberdeenroncalli.org Aberdeen (Moccasin Creek) 2022 - Sep 26
2A Jake Versteeg, Canton jake.versteeg@k12.sd.us Canton 2022 - Sep 26
3A Adam Fischer, Parkston adam.fischer@k12.sd.us Mitchell (Lakeview) 2022 - Sep 26
4A Paul Nepodal, Lead-Deadwood paul.nepodal@k12.sd.us Deadwood 2022 - Sep 26

Boys Golf (Spring)

Region Chairperson Email Site Date(s)
1B Tim Koisti, Hamlin tim.koisti@k12.sd.us Watertown (Cattail Crossing) 2023 - May 22
2B Casey Michel, Dell Rapids St. Mary casey.michel@k12.sd.us Dell Rapids 2023 - May 23
3B Jason Bailey, Bridgewater-Emery jason.bailey@k12.sd.us Hartford TBD
4B Frank Cutler, Platte-Geddes frank.cutler@k12.sd.us Mitchell (Lakeview) 2023 - May 23
5B Eric Norden, Miller eric.norden@k12.sd.us Huron (Broadland Creek) 2023 - May 22
6B Steve Schoenfish, Newell steven.schoenfish@k12.sd.us Rapid City (Hart Ranch) 2023 - May 22

Boys Wrestling

Region Chairperson Email Site Date(s)
1A Michael Ricke, Madison michael.ricke@k12.sd.us Madison 2023 - Feb 18
2A Bill Freking, Brandon Valley bill.freking@k12.sd.us Brandon 2023 - Feb 17
3A Chuck Wilson, Todd County chuck.wilson@k12.sd.us Mission 2023 - Feb 18
4A Jordan Bauer, Rapid City Central jordan.bauer@k12.sd.us Rapid City (Central HS) 2023 - Feb 18
1B Moe Ruesink, Sioux Valley moe.ruesink@k12.sd.us Volga 2023 - Feb 18
2B Justin Clercx, Elk Point-Jefferson justin.clercx@k12.sd.us Salem 2023 - Feb 18
3B Matt Dykstra, Kimball matt.dykstra@k12.sd.us Miller 2023 - Feb 18
4B Paul Nepodal, Lead-Deadwood paul.nepodal@k12.sd.us Lead 2023 - Feb 18

Girls Basketball

Region Chairperson Email Date(s)
1A Brian Dolan, Groton Area brian.dolan@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 21, Feb 23
2A Moe Ruesink, Sioux Valley moe.ruesink@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 20, Feb 21, Feb 23
3A Andrea Johnson, West Central andrea.l.johnson@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 21, Feb 23
4A Owen Reinalda, Beresford owen.reinalda@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 21, Feb 23
5A Eric Denning, Mount Vernon eric.denning@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 20, Feb 21, Feb 23
6A Ted Holmstrom, Mobridge-Pollock theodore.holmstrom@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 21, Feb 23
7A Francis Big Crow, Lakota Tech francis.bigcrow@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 21, Feb 23
8A Craig Nowotny, St. Thomas More cnowotny@rccss.org 2023 - Feb 21, Feb 23
1B Jon Meyer, Waverly-South Shore jon.meyer@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 20, Feb 21, Feb 23
2B Mike Ruth, Iroquois mike.ruth@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 20, Feb 21, Feb 23
3B Brant Deutsch, Colman-Egan brant.deutsch@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 21, Feb 23
4B Mike King, Irene-Wakonda mike.king@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 20, Feb 21, Feb 23
5B Scott Muckey, Corsica-Stickney scott.muckey@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 20, Feb 21, Feb 23
6B Dan Knust, Ipswich dan.knust@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 20, Feb 21, Feb 23
7B Brandi Brassfield, New Underwood brandi.ballard@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 20, Feb 21, Feb 23
8B Kelly Messmer, Harding County kelly.messmer@k12.sd.us 2023 - Feb 20, Feb 21, Feb 23

Girls Cross Country

Region Chairperson Email Site Date(s)
1A Nathan Bloom, Webster Area nathan.bloom@k12.sd.us Webster 2022 - Oct 13
2A Doug Durfee, McCook Central doug.durfee@k12.sd.us Salem 2022 - Oct 13
2A Jeff Heisinger, Montrose jeffrey.heisinger@k12.sd.us Salem 2022 - Oct 13
3A Jason Huska, Vermillion jason.huska@k12.sd.us Vermillion 2022 - Oct 13
4A Bill Kurtz, Chamberlain bill.kurtz@k12.sd.us Chamberlain 2022 - Oct 13
5A Wade Ginsbach, Hill City wade.ginsbach@k12.sd.us Rapid City (Hart Ranch) 2022 - Oct 13
1B Brad DeBeer, Deubrook Area brad.debeer@k12.sd.us Webster 2022 - Oct 12
2B Brant Deutsch, Colman-Egan brant.deutsch@k12.sd.us Colman 2022 - Oct 12
3B Mike Sebern, Burke mike.sebern@k12.sd.us Burke 2022 - Oct 12
4B Mike Ring, Highmore-Harrold mike.ring@k12.sd.us Gettysburg 2022 - Oct 12
5B Mandie Menzel, Philip mandie.menzel@k12.sd.us Philip 2022 - Oct 12

Girls Golf

Region Chairperson Email Site Date(s)
1A Rick Weber, Flandreau rick.weber@k12.sd.us Flandreau 2023 - May 25
2A Jim Groen, Sioux Falls Christian jbg@siouxfallschristian.org Harrisburg 2023 - May 25
3A Ted Holmstrom, Mobridge-Pollock theodore.holmstrom@k12.sd.us Pierre 2023 - May 23
4A Craig Nowotny, St. Thomas More cnowotny@rccss.org Rapid City (Meadowbrook) 2023 - May 16
1B Tim Koisti, Hamlin tim.koisti@k12.sd.us Watertown (Cattail Crossing) 2023 - May 22
2B Casey Michel, Dell Rapids St. Mary casey.michel@k12.sd.us Dell Rapids 2023 - May 23
3B Jason Bailey, Bridgewater-Emery jason.bailey@k12.sd.us Hartford TBD
4B Frank Cutler, Platte-Geddes frank.cutler@k12.sd.us Mitchell (Lakeview) 2023 - May 23
5B Eric Norden, Miller eric.norden@k12.sd.us Huron (Broadland Creek) 2023 - May 22
6B Steve Schoenfish, Newell steven.schoenfish@k12.sd.us Rapid City (Hart Ranch) 2023 - May 22

Girls Track & Field

Region Chairperson Email Site Date(s)
1A Joel Osborn, Redfield joel.osborn@k12.sd.us Redfield 2023 - May 18
2A Eric Bass, Estelline eric.bass@k12.sd.us Estelline 2023 - May 18
3A Rob Grady, Tri-Valley rob.grady@k12.sd.us TBD 2023 - May 18
4A Bill Clements, Dakota Valley bill.clements@k12.sd.us Tea 2023 - May 18
5A Jim Bridge, Hanson james.bridge@k12.sd.us Alexandria 2023 - May 18
6A Ted Holmstrom, Mobridge-Pollock theodore.holmstrom@k12.sd.us TBD 2023 - May 18
7A Chuck Wilson, Todd County chuck.wilson@k12.sd.us Mission 2023 - May 18
8A Adam Nowowiejski, Belle Fourche adam.nowowiejski@k12.sd.us Belle Fourche 2023 - May 18
1B Stephanie Symens, Britton-Hecla stephanie.symens@k12.sd.us Britton 2023 - May 18
2B Brad DeBeer, Deubrook Area brad.debeer@k12.sd.us White 2023 - May 18
3B Julie Eppard, Chester Area julie.eppard@k12.sd.us Bridgewater 2023 - May 17
4B Kristina Sage, Freeman kristina.sage@k12.sd.us Freeman 2023 - May 18
5B Mike Sebern, Burke mike.sebern@k12.sd.us Avon 2023 - May 18
6B Mike Ring, Highmore-Harrold mike.ring@k12.sd.us Gettysburg 2023 - May 18
7B Mark Reiman, Kadoka Area mark.reiman@k12.sd.us Kadoka 2023 - May 18
8B Josh Anderson, Lemmon josh.anderson@k12.sd.us Lemmon 2023 - May 18

Gymnastics

Region Chairperson Email Site Date(s)
1AA (East/West) Joey Struwe, Sioux Falls Lincoln joey.struwe@k12.sd.us Sioux Falls (Lincoln HS) 2023 - Feb 3
2AA (ESD) Brian Moser, Pierre T.F. Riggs brian.moser@k12.sd.us Pierre 2023 - Feb 4
1A Ryan Scoular, Milbank ryan.scoular@k12.sd.us Milbank 2023 - Feb 2
2A Josh Davies, Wagner josh.davies@k12.sd.us Wagner 2023 - Feb 3

One-Act Play

Region Chairperson Email Site Date(s) Entry Due
1A Tommy Merriman, Beresford thomas.merriman@k12.sd.us Vermillion (Vermillion HS) 2023 - Jan 24 2023 - Jan 13
2A Brooke Palleschi, Tea Area brooke.palleschi@k12.sd.us Canton (Carnegie Center) 2023 - Jan 24 2023 - Jan 13
3A Michael Ricke, Madison michael.ricke@k12.sd.us Madison (Dakota Prairie Playhouse) 2023 - Jan 25 2023 - Jan 13
4A Stephanie Litzen, Aberdeen Roncalli stephanie.litzen@k12.sd.us Aberdeen (Capitol Theatre) 2023 - Jan 24 2023 - Jan 13
5A Jennifer Milliken, Stanley County jennifer.milliken@k12.sd.us Pierre (T.F. Riggs HS) 2023 - Jan 23 2023 - Jan 13
6A Susan Bowen, Custer susan.bowen@k12.sd.us Custer (Custer HS) 2023 - Jan 25 2023 - Jan 13
1B Jacquelynn Skotvold, Centerville jacquelynn.skotvold@k12.sd.us Sioux Falls (SF Lutheran HS) 2023 - Jan 25 2023 - Jan 13
2B Brooklyn Fredrickson, Arlington brooklyn.fredrickson@k12.sd.us Brookings (Oscar Larson PAC) 2023 - Jan 18 2023 - Jan 6
3B Michael Ricke, Madison michael.ricke@k12.sd.us Madison (Dakota Prairie Playhouse) 2023 - Jan 24 2023 - Jan 13
4B Loretta Knodel, Avon loretta.knodel@k12.sd.us Mitchell (Pepsi-Cola Theatre) 2023 - Jan 17 2023 - Jan 6
5B Krista O'Dea, Lake Preston krista.odea@k12.sd.us Huron (James Valley Christian HS) 2023 - Jan 25 2023 - Jan 13
6B Marcy Klitzke, Florence marcy.klitzke@k12.sd.us Watertown (Great Plains Lutheran HS) 2023 - Jan 25 2023 - Jan 13
7B Heather Kraft, Timber Lake heather.kraft@k12.sd.us Ipswich (Ipswich HS) 2023 - Jan 18 2023 - Jan 6
8B Laura O'Connor, Philip laura.oconnor@k12.sd.us Pierre (T.F. Riggs HS) 2023 - Jan 18 2023 - Jan 6

Oral Interpretation

Region Chairperson Email Site Date(s) Entry Due
1A Michael Larson, Lennox michael.larson@k12.sd.us Vermillion (Vermillion HS) 2022 - Nov 16 2022 - Nov 7
2A Judy Duffy, Winner judy.duffy@k12.sd.us Oacoma (Cedar Shores Resort) 2022 - Nov 14 2022 - Nov 7
3A Matt Groce, Madison grocematt@gmail.com Brookings (SDSU) 2023 - Nov 14 2022 - Nov 7
4A Molly English, Mobridge-Pollock molly.english@k12.sd.us Aberdeen 2022 - Nov 15 2022 - Nov 7
5A Dan Snethen, Little Wound snethen@hotmail.com Rapid City (RC Christian HS) 2022 - Nov 16 2022 - Nov 7
1B Amy Smith, Viborg-Hurley amy.smith@k12.sd.us Sioux Falls (Augustana University) 2022 - Nov 15 2022 - Nov 7
2B Kristina Sage, Freeman kristina.sage@k12.sd.us Mitchell (First United Methodist Church) 2022 - Nov 15 2022 - Nov 7
3B Tammy Holzer, Arlington tamara.holzer@k12.sd.us De Smet (De Smet Event Center) 2022 - Nov 15 2022 - Nov 7
4B Christina Bosse, Britton-Hecla christina.bosse@k12.sd.us Webster 2022 - Nov 14 2022 - Nov 7
5B Patti Konechne, Kimball patricia.konechne@k12.sd.us Pierre (Ramkota Hotel & Convention Center) 2022 - Nov 14 2022 - Nov 7
District Chairperson Email Site Date(s) Entry Due
1B Ryan Kenyon, Alcester-Hudson ryan.kenyon@k12.sd.us Vermillion (Nueharth Center) 2022 - Nov 3 2022 - Oct 24
2B Tina Moyer, Chester Area christina.moyer@k12.sd.us Madison (United Methodist Church) 2022 - Nov 7 2022 - Oct 31
3B Betsy Knodel, Menno betsy.knodel@k12.sd.us Mitchell (First United Methodist Church) 2022 - Nov 1 2022 - Oct 24
4B Karen Freeman, Ethan karen.freeman@k12.sd.us Mitchell (First United Methodist Church) 2022 - Nov 2 2022 - Oct 24
5B Lacey Holt, De Smet lacey.holt@k12.sd.us Brookings (First Presbyterian Church) 2022 - Nov 2 2022 - Oct 24
6B Jill Mendel, James Valley Christian j.mendel@jvcs.org Huron (James Valley Christian HS) 2022 - Nov 2 2022 - Oct 24
7B Mary Kay Black, Florence mary-kay.black@k12.sd.us Watertown (Our Redeemer Lutheran Church) 2022 - Nov 2 2022 - Oct 24
8B Abby Krueger, Langford Area abby.krueger@k12.sd.us Aberdeen (ARCC) 2022 - Nov 2 2022 - Oct 24
9B Ronda Graber, Gregory ronda.graber@k12.sd.us Oacoma (Cedar Shore Resort) 2022 - Nov 1 2022 - Oct 24
10B Ashley Griese, Hoven ashley.l.griese@k12.sd.us Mobridge (Edge Event Center) 2022 - Nov 1 2022 - Oct 24

Region Music

Region Chairperson Email
1 Kristin Schmeling, Elk Point-Jefferson kristin.schmeling@k12.sd.us
2 Helen Mogen, Chester Area helen.mogen@k12.sd.us
3 Susan Karels, Milbank susan.karels@k12.sd.us
4 Kim Carda, Aberdeen Roncalli kimberlycarda@aberdeenroncalli.org
5 Katie Opp, Gregory katie.opp@k12.sd.us
6 Dale Batie, Eureka dale.batie@k12.sd.us
7 Colby Shuck, Kadoka Area colby.shuck@k12.sd.us
8 George Dragoo, Rapid City Stevens george.dragoo@k12.sd.us

Volleyball

Region Chairperson Email Date(s)
1A Joel Osborn, Redfield joel.osborn@k12.sd.us 2022 - Nov 1, Nov 3
2A Moe Ruesink, Sioux Valley moe.ruesink@k12.sd.us 2022 - Oct 31, Nov 1, Nov 3
3A Jim Groen, Sioux Falls Christian jbg@siouxfallschristian.org 2022 - Nov 1, Nov 3
4A Justin Clercx, Elk Point-Jefferson justin.clercx@k12.sd.us 2022 - Nov 1, Nov 3
5A Eric Denning, Mount Vernon eric.denning@k12..sd.us 2022 - Oct 31, Nov 1, Nov 3
6A Keely Bracelin, Stanley County keely.bracelin@k12.sd.us 2022 - Nov 1, Nov 3
7A Christian McGhee, Red Cloud christianmcghee@redcloudschool.org 2022 - Nov 1, Nov 3
8A Craig Nowotny, St. Thomas More craig.nowotny@k12.sd.us 2022 - Nov 1, Nov 3
1B Brett Flemmer, Leola brett.flemmer@k12.sd.us 2022 - Oct 31, Nov 1, Nov 3
2B Mike Ruth, Iroquois mike.ruth@k12.sd.us 2022 - Oct 31, Nov 1, Nov 3
3B Julie Eppard, Chester Area julie.eppard@k12.sd.us 2022 - Nov 1, Nov 3
4B Jacque Liebl, Menno jacque.liebl@k12.sd.us 2022 - Oct 31, Nov 1, Nov 3
5B Brittney Eide, Corsica-Stickney brittney.eide@k12.sd.us 2022 - Oct 31, Nov 1, Nov 3
6B Vern Smith, Gettysburg vern.smith@k12.sd.us 2022 - Oct 31, Nov 1, Nov 3
7B Mandie Menzel, Philip mandie.menzel@k12.sd.us 2022 - Oct 31, Nov 1, Nov 3
8B Kelly Messmer, Harding County kelly.messmer@k12.sd.us 2022 - Oct 31, Nov 1, Nov 3
Privacy | Terms | © 2023 BOUND